Saved By Grace

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” –Galatians 6:9

Image result for the christian symbol of the fish

Through all of my life, there has been a greater something, or rather someone, present by my side during all times: God. Growing up in a Christian home is very helpful when it comes to my relationship with the Lord, but it has to be my own choice to follow Him for all of my days, and this is a choice that I have made. Everyone has their own opinions about whether God exists or not, but I have decided to take up my faith and believe in Him through the good times and the bad. I know that He is real for I have felt His presence in my life and heard His words in my heart. I know that there is something better to come for me when my time on this earth passes. I know that He is the one thing that I need in my life in order to find happiness. I may get criticized for being vocal about my faith, but I will not step away from what I believe and what I love. My faith is who I am.

God has a plan for me, and you, and everyone on this planet. If He didn’t have a purpose for you, you would not be here. I have a purpose. I remind myself of this every day so that I may try to be the best person that I can possibly. As of right now, I am not quite sure what that specific purpose is yet, but I know that it is there and that I will find it soon. My main goal in life is the find the purpose that the Lord has set out for me, and fulfill it. I know that it is not going to be easy, but I do know that it is going to be completely worth it. I won’t lie to you, following Jesus and accepting Him as your savior does not make life suddenly so much easier. You still face struggles and hardships along your journey of life, but knowing that God is there every step of the way makes those struggles more bearable. Knowing that there is something more to come keeps me going. I love being able to have my faith to fall back on when I am in need and having God behind me every step of the way to pick me up when I fall down. Knowing that I do not have to go through life alone gives me a sense of peace that I would not otherwise feel.

At this current moment in time, I am not where I would like to be in my life. The hardships that I have faced in the past few months are taking a huge toll on both my mental and physical health. Some people criticize me for my actions, but they just do not understand my life. Before you judge me, ask yourself, “Do I know what it is like to suffer from two mental disorders?” “Have I ever faced major depression or anxiety?” “Have I ever woken up and wondered if I could make it through the day without having an anxiety attack or wanting to die?” Yes, I face these challenges. I have been diagnosed with major medical depression and anxiety, leading me to suffer greatly at some points, and even land myself in the hospital at one point. Some days I am physically not able to do anything but sleep because of the toll that this takes on my body. However, I do have a large amount of hope and peace about my struggles, all because of the faith that I have in my Lord and Savior. I know that no matter what, I can rely on God to help me through all of the struggles that I face, and He will love me no matter how many times I fail. I have faith that I can overcome all of my struggles with God.

I have strayed from my faith recently, and I have lost my sight of God. I do know, however, that I will get that back. I am going to turn my life around and become the great person I used to be. God has given me the hope and strength to be able to overcome my pain and suffering and become the young adult that He created me to be. I am ready. I am ready to start this new life with God where I work hard, stand strong, and share the love of the Lord with the world. My time is now, and today is the day that I begin my new journey of happiness, peace, and love. Today is the day I am made new and whole by my Father in Heaven. Today is the day, and let the world celebrate this (not literally, I will just party in my head).

You may be asking, “Now what comes next?” If I am going to be completely honest, I have absolutely no idea, but God does, and I take comfort in knowing that. I am going to spend more time with God and in His Word. I know that He will keep me going through all of my days, and is going to get me through whatever crosses my path to Him. Am I ready to take on this scary task? Not completely, no one ever is, but that’s the beauty of it. If we wait to be ready for something, we will be waiting our whole lives. The hardest part is to take the first step, and I am doing just that. Whatever comes, I have my Lord behind me, and I can rest in that. Are you ready to take a leap of faith?

Even When It Hurts- Song

Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)- Song

 

One thought on “Saved By Grace

  1. Pingback: WE Nourish was a success!!! The story of a life-changing experience giving back to our community. | Impact & Service: My Journey in Education

Leave a Reply

